Skip to content
September 10, 2010 / mish

skim coating!

We started the next phase of the rumpus room, and now with the fancy drywall stilts, we have a whole new system that makes skim coating the ceilings a lot quicker.

I scoop – M skims. When he is out of joint compound, I scoop some more and he keeps on skimming. Seeing as how I couldn’t get the hang of the stilts, my job stays on the ground. But the process seems to be going a lot quicker this way, and at least I feel like I am contributing to the room’s progress.

Before we started on the ceiling, M had removed all the old paneling. (Yes, I really REALLY really wanted to paint the wood paneling and keep it for some texture- but I lost that battle). Looking at it now though, I am really happy we decided to start semi-fresh. The fact that we found some termite damage behind one of the panels supports that idea. It’s nice to know we know what is behind there.

So M tidied up, taped and mudded all the joins, corners, and sunk all the nails. And then we started the ceiling. The initial step was to scrape all the popcorn, like we did HERE. Unlike the first three rooms in the house, the hallway and master had to be scraped AND skim coated to achieve a smooth surface. The same goes for this monster of a room.

You can see in this image, the ceiling has been scraped, and there is a bit of joint compound in one spot. The goal is to do about 4-5 coats of this stuff- and sand, sand and do more sanding.

Den - 30.jpg

Here is the ceiling fully scraped and ready to be skim coated:

Den - 40.jpg

First layer of joint compound:

Den - 50.jpg

The scooper! (my job) Before mixing the joint compound with a metal paint mixer attached to the drill, we added a bit of dishwashing liquid to it. Apparently M read somewhere that this helps avoid bubbles when you apply it. Thought that was an interesting tip.

Den - 53.jpg

Second layer of joint compound being applied:

Den - 62.jpg

Second layer completed!

Den - 57.jpg

Only 3 more coats to go!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cherie / Sep 10 2010 2:05 pm

    What exactly is a rumpus room?

    • mish / Sep 10 2010 2:29 pm

      Well Cherie, I am so glad you asked!:) From Wiki:
      A recreation room (also known as a rec room, rumpus room, or ruckus room) is a room used for a variety of purposes, such as parties, games and other everyday or casual use. The term is common in the United States, but is less common in the United Kingdom where the preferred term is games room.

      The only reason we call it that is because we found the old plans of the house, and they listed the room as RUMPUS! We also like to call it the “great room”. I might start calling it the “games room” now…

  2. Kate / Sep 10 2010 3:02 pm

    hi! i stumbled upon your sweet little blog todayand couldn’t help but hit the follow button! i look forward to following your adventures in the future! xo and happy friday!
    kate

    • mish / Sep 10 2010 3:23 pm

      Hey Kate! Thanks so much for following us- it gives me more reason to post more often knowing there are more people reading! I just added your blog to my rss feed!

  3. 36x37 / Sep 11 2010 8:06 pm

    Whoa. I’m amazed by these photos. And I’m in total awe of the work you’ve taken on for yourselves, and the fact you seem to really know what you’re doing. DIY projects always leave me speechless. I’m not at all handy, so I always admire people who can, for instance, strap on a pair of stilts and just start skim coating.

    And now I’m rivited. I can’t wait to watch this project unfold for you guys. What a cool blog. Best of luck.

    Thanks for stopping by 36×37 on Thursday. Best wishes on your project!

  4. ALittleBite / Sep 12 2010 1:26 pm

    Wow, that is amazing! It looks like a lot of work. My parents have textured walls throughtout their house and want to try and scrape everything themselves, I keep telling them they’re crazy. Mostly because by “themselves” they mean me and my brother…

Leave a Reply

