Skip to content
September 21, 2010 / mish

primed and pampered

Well not quite pampered yet. Pampered would be with new floors, new fixtures, and furniture. Oh, how I can’t wait to pick out furniture.

But for now primed will do.

After the final skim coat, we sanded the ceiling in the spots that needed some extra smoothing attention. And when I came home from work on Friday- I came home to M covered in paint. And this:

And just as a reminder of what the ceiling looked like when we started and the progress we have made since we started the big ‘ol demo:

And a little progress shot of the formerly dropped ceiling and wall panelling that was once the old wet bar, (and the part that I am the most impressed with):

And a progress shot of the formerly odd closet space with dropped ceiling on the opposite side of the wet bar:

There’s been a lot of staring at the ceiling recently. Luckily it’s amounted to more than just daydreaming. Happily, we can slowly move on to other parts of the room now, like walls..and floors.

And just to show something other than a white blank slate in this post, here is the fireplace before and after I cleaned it with a wire brush, toothbrush, soap, and bathroom cleaner (as recommended online on how to clean flagstone fireplaces). Yes, I know you can’t see the difference AT ALL between the two images, but I feel better knowing that dirt water came off the fireplace in the first image- and it didn’t in the second image. Still need to tackle the actual INSIDE of the pit, but that’s another project to add to the to do list. I kind of want to paint the inside dark gray…or black…or do we leave it as the exposed brick?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Eric @ flavorspaces / Sep 21 2010 6:30 am

    Wow, you guys have been busy. The ceiling looks really impressive and I love that you took out the drop ceiling over the wet bar.

    From the pictures of the flagstone fireplace I can see it smiling in the after picture because it was cleaned, so great job. 🙂 Are you thinking of painting the entire fireplace or just the inside portion because I think it would look good either way.

    • mish / Sep 21 2010 4:12 pm

      thanks Eric! I don’t think we are planning on painting the fireplace. If it was a flat surface than I would love to paint it a crisp white. But because of all the jagged edges and curves, I think we are going to leave it as is, for it’s cabin/den like feel. But I am not sure if to leave the brick inside as just brick or paint it!?

      • Eric @ flavorspaces / Sep 21 2010 6:45 pm

        I think you should paint it. There is a lot of surface area with the flagstone already so I think you could get away with any color on the inside of the fireplace if you really wanted.

  2. Lauren / Sep 21 2010 8:22 am

    Wahoo!!! Congrats!!! Bet you’re sore.

    • mish / Sep 21 2010 4:13 pm

      thanks Lauren! I know you feel our pain! I have been following your own skim coating drama- hope to see some reveals soon!

  3. Ella / Sep 21 2010 3:02 pm

    Start taking shape, looking so… good!!

    • mish / Sep 21 2010 4:13 pm

      thanks mom:)

  4. Emily Henderson / Sep 23 2010 7:54 am

    Hi!!! I saw your comment on my post about casting for houses. You should definitely email casting@triconfilms.com
    I posted a bunch of info on my blog again – updated from last night, so check it out.

    I hope it works out!
    E

Leave a Reply

