Skip to content
October 1, 2010 / mish

One year ago today.

One year ago today we closed on our little house that could. I had been working really late that week and when I found out we had the keys, it took all the strength I had not to claim family emergence so I could drive to meet M at our our new place. I was so jealous he was already there, I think I probably called him every 10 minutes, just to make sure the house was still ours.

That night we slept on the carpet in the den. We still had our apartment for one more month, but the excitement of the largest purchase of our lives was too much. We would just walk from room to room and stand there for about 10-20 minutes just staring, staring at the walls, the floors, the windows.

Wait. I still do that.

So since today is our “housiversary”, I thought it would be fun to dig up the photos of the old apartment. It was the first place we lived together, and the apartment that I lived in the longest on my own. About five years to be exact.

I loved that place so much. It was right in the midst of fantastic restaurants, shopping and dangerously close to Whole Foods. Our closest friends lived either right next door or within walking distance. Maybe because it was my very first place without roommates, my first place on my own, that I have a soft spot for it. But when M moved in there, he started pointing out all it’s flaws. The bad landlord, the leaking water into the laundry room, the cracking paint, again- the bad landlord….

He was right, but I was blinded. As a couple, we quickly outgrew this one bedroom place, but I still look back on it with fond memories. Afterall, it was our very first place together.

But then I look at this. And I come back to reality. I guess I don’t miss it THAT much after all.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Phil / Oct 1 2010 6:17 pm

    I also have fond memories of your old place, us visiting you there and going to the Grove together, well, that we can still do.

    lv,
    ddy

  2. Cara / Oct 2 2010 6:05 pm

    Awww…I miss you being so close! *tear*

    Love you guys! Happy “Housiversary!!”

  3. Nelly lembersky / Oct 2 2010 9:55 pm

    Hi, Guys,
    We are so happy for you for having made the right decision and bought the house which you have renovated according to your own taste.
    Enjoy living there and of course, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    N.& D.

  4. Lauren / Oct 4 2010 8:50 am

    Ahhhh please, please, please don’t remind me of the horror that was communal basement laundry. I’ll get night terrors!!!! Happy home-owning bday!

Leave a Reply

