Skip to content
May 4, 2011 / mish

this week . grout color ?

So I am skipping to the floors, because I haven’t been around during the day to take some good photos of the kitchen cabinets/handles progress.

And it’s a huge mess. Huge.

We picked up this 12×24 grey tile on Saturday, and started the laundry room this week. Starting flooring in laundry room = moving washing machine and dryer to the kitchen = big mess.

Initially, I thought I wanted larger spaces with thicker grout in between the tiles. But then we got crazy and thought we wanted really thin spaces, to make it resemble more of a concrete slab feel…

So now my question is, which color grout? I thought white to create more contrast, but now we are thinking a darker color to make it look more blended together.

Anyone have any advice/thoughts/suggestions/inspiration photos?

p.s. yes, we are going to paint the door…eventually.

Here’s a reminder of the what the laundry room has been through so far…


7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ella / May 5 2011 12:51 am

    I would saya darker, just more practical White on the floor can get dirty fast. Looks good, great job as usual. Can you make a photo of a tile closer?

  2. Mark / May 5 2011 1:26 am

    Narrow joints are more “on-trend” – about the width of a pound coin (if you’ve got one) looks good. Less contrast in the grout would be better in my opinion too.

    • mish / May 5 2011 9:31 am

      Thanks Mark! I feel better about going darker with your expert architectural opinion!

  3. Beth / May 5 2011 11:18 am

    I love the size and shope of those tiles. It’s going to look great! We used grey grout with our grey tile in the bathroom – a color pretty similar to the tile. I have seen some tiles like yours with white grout that looked good too. I have a couple of photos I can email you.

    • mish / May 5 2011 11:22 am

      Thanks Beth! Would love to see some photos. I keep searching, but of course, when you are looking for something, you can never find it.

  4. erin / May 5 2011 11:45 am

    i have no experience with grout or tile 🙂 that said, i think if you are going for a concrete/one cohesive slab look, then you should go grey. this will keep it cleaner too as some genius (your mom) already metioned. as usual, everything looks amazing!

  5. Jessie / Jun 25 2012 10:23 am

    just stumbled upon your blog and i absolutly lovvve your 12×24 grey tiles. where did you get them? what is the name? I would love to see it in person

Leave a Reply

