Skip to content
May 6, 2011 / mish

bric a brac – again

They are renovating our local Goodwill. Making it bigger and better. I like it. I am abnormally super excited about it. It means more space for them to accept larger furniture pieces, which makes me happy.

I of course stopped there on my way home from work the other day, as one does, to see how it was coming along and picked up these two little pieces. The eccentric woman next to me wanted to have a little chat. She wanted to see my finds and proceeded to take them out of my hands and give them a good look over. Apparently she has an affinity for mint green and just happened to be wearing a shirt the same color as this vase.

She was also very pleased to find that this bowl was oven to tableware friendly and said that I would get so much good use out of it.

During this trip, I also spotted this little wooden cart with no markings on it, so I can’t tell you who it’s by, what it’s worth or where it’s from. It’s most likely a piece of junk. Which is exactly what Michael said to me when I brought it home the following day. “No”, I replied, “you can’t RETURN stuff to the thrift store”.

It will take me a while to fix her up, but I did a light sanding last night and it’s in progress. I am not sure yet whether to stain or paint it. This credenza makeover is the perfect mix of gray and brass, which if staining doesn’t work, I think grey would be a good way to go.

Big surprise.


5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. CourtneyOutLoud / May 6 2011 12:01 pm

    Thanks for the link! I would say stain her first — if you don’t like it then you can always paint over the stain. It’s much harder to it in reverse 🙂

    • mish / May 6 2011 12:55 pm

      Thanks so much Courtney- I think that is a good plan!

  2. Phil / May 6 2011 12:53 pm

    I’m in full agreement with Michael. What did he say about two ceramic pieces?

    ddy

    • mish / May 6 2011 12:55 pm

      omg! how dare you agree with michael and not your own daughter!

    • Michael / May 6 2011 1:12 pm

      Thanks Phil, On the ceramic pieces I banned them from coming in contact with food as probably contain high lead.

Leave a Reply

